Burroughs Adding Machine

Social justice, arts and politics, life in New York City

Oprah’s Audience Loses It (Again)

I don’t know how to rectify my antipathy towards Oprah with my adoration for the woman. Her pseudo-spiritual, self-help, consumer-is-king unapologetic-ness wears on me. But she has done amazing things for the publishing industry, so she ain’t all bad.

Yesterday her favorite things schtick reached an apex. I can’t help but crack up at her audience’s reaction to the announcement that they would receive the biggest and best of Oprah’s Favorite Things.

Reminds me of Sarah Palin and Tina Fey’s impression of Palin; in my mind, I can’t separate Oprah’s real audience crying, hugging, and pentecostal zeal from the Saturday Night Live skit in which her audience member’s head explodes from excitement.

Filed under: comedy, consumerism, pop culture, television, , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses

  1. Keerror says:

    Ricco, I can’t believe you don’t like Oprah. Wait i can believe it I just dont understand it. I think she does the best she can with what she’s got. She tries to share her lifestyle her beliefs her doubts, her fears with others hoping that her story and the stories of her guests can help others. In the favorite things episodes the gifts she bestows just happen to be material gifts instead of her usual spiritual ones

  2. rsiasoco says:

    I never actually said I don’t like Oprah; in fact, I respect her a lot – note how I gave her kudos for her book club. And she’s brought awareness to so many social issues that I hold close to my heart. The consumerism, though. It’s like I said–I’m conflicted about my feelings of amazement and astonishment.

    Good to hear from you, Keerror!

    • Keerror says:

      Fair enough. Without it we’d shrivel up and die ricco. Shrivel up and die! Of course I love talking to you Ricco, You’re my FAVORITE!

Leave a Reply

About Me

Ricco Villanueva Siasoco is a Manhattan-based writer and non-profit manager. More

Top Clicks

  • None

Categories

