Burroughs Adding Machine

Social justice, arts and politics, life in New York City

Poetry for Fading Light

The Times published six poems by some of the greats, in honor of the shift to Daylight Savings Time.

Turn back your clocks, celebrate these poems. “Free,” the prose poem by James Tate, is my favorite. An excerpt:

I was always thinking about her even when I wasn’t thinking. Days went by when I did little else. She had left me one night as a complete surprise. I didn’t know where she went. I didn’t know if she was ever coming back. I searched her dresser and closet for any clues

….were they a dream? I didn’t trust anything any longer. I searched the house for any trace of her. Nothing. I started asking my friends if they remembered anything about her. They looked at me as if I were crazy. I sat at home and began to cheer up. What if none of this happened? I thought. What if there was nothing to be sad about?

JAMES TATE, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and author, most recently, of “The Ghost Soldiers”

Towleroad also published a funny post about contentious tweets over Daylight Savings Time. Is nothing free of bipartisanship?

Filed under: literature, poetry, time, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

About Me

Ricco Villanueva Siasoco is a Manhattan-based writer and non-profit manager. More

Top Clicks

  • None

Categories

