Burroughs Adding Machine

Social justice, arts and politics, life in New York City

To-Read List: Sam Lipsyte’s “The Ask”

It’s hard to resist the temptation of the new. I’m talking about the next next thing, the hot-off-the-press, the shiny and packaged, the perfection of a product or an idea–or a friend–who you’ve just met and can’t wait to devour. So I’ve just heard about the publication of Sam Lipsyte’s new novel, The Ask, and find myself falling into the trap of desire because it’s new. In Lipsyte’s case, I’m hoping it’s more than just its freshness.

Lipsyte has been a longtime contributor to hipsterville mag McSweeney‘s as well as Tin House and other envy-making publications. But Lipsyte has always stood out for me. His prose, terse, sensible, and awfully funny, often finds beauty in the ordinary; another writer I admire, Lydia Millet, offers her praise-worthy review in the NYT.

The beginning lines of his new novel, The Ask, a description of a deliman and his turkey sandwich:

The deli near Mediocre had a new wrap man. He rolled my order too tight. Turkey poked through the tan skin. I studied the damage through the translucent lid of the container. It was a bad way to begin my first day at my old job.

Lipsyte’s publicist has been hitting the pavement, because the Times also published a Q&A with the author in its nice Paper Cuts blog. My favorite response is when Lipsyte is asked to describe a typical writing day. If you’re not a writer, this will not be as hilarious and hapless and spot-on as I find it:

Wake up bursting with wonderful ideas for fiction. Don’t bother to write them down because I firmly believe that if they are worthwhile I’ll remember them. Make my son breakfast, pack his lunch, accompany him to school. Walk back home and try to remember the ideas I was bursting with when I woke up. Cannot remember a thing. Were they not worthwhile, or should I really start writing things down? Come home and play with my daughter and get ready for the day. Usually I’m teaching or meeting with students or reading their manuscripts. Or maybe there is some kind of committee, or an administrative task I must complete. Still, there is likely a one or two-hour window somewhere in all of this, time enough to take my laptop to the nearest library. If I hit the ground running, I might be able to polish a paragraph or two, or even begin something new. But I should probably check my e-mail first. And read some essays and stories online that friends have recommended. And check my e-mail again. And think about whether I should join an online social network. Maybe I’ll download a song. Wow, that two hours went fast! Now I’m home and hanging out with my family. After the nightly routine with the kids — dinner, bath, books, bed — I’ll really dig in for a serious session. While the world sleeps or watches dumb TV shows, I will launch myself into whole new worlds of story and language. But wow, I’m pretty tired! And that new Steven Seagal reality show is on, the one where he is an actual deputy sheriff and talks about the Zen of pistol shooting and tackles people in the poor sections of town. It’s like celebrity “Cops”! Anyway, I’ll be fresher tomorrow.

Here’s to the possibility inherent in the new, in this case, Lipsyte’s recently published novel. I’m happy to add it to my list of things to do.

Filed under: humor, literature, , , ,

Publications

BIOGRAPHY

RECENT PUBLICATIONS
» "Pinays," AGNI, Spring 2016
» "Dandy," Post Road, Spring 2015
» "Wrestlers," Fifth Wednesday, Spring 2014
» "Babies," Joyland, August 2011
» "Nicolette and Maribel," BostonNow, May 2007
» "The Rice Bowl," Memorious, March 2005
» "The Rules of the Game," Screaming Monkeys: Critiques of Asian American Images (Coffee House Press, June 2003)
» "Deaf Mute," Growing Up Filipino (Philippine American Literary House, April 2003)
» "Good Men ," Genre, April 2003
» "The Foley Artist," Drunken Boat, April 2002
» "Squatters," Take Out: Queer Writing from Asian Pacific America (Asian Am. Writers' Workshop, 2001)
» "Deaf Mute," The North American Review, Jan 2001
» "The First Lady of Our Filipino Nation," The Boston Phoenix, 1999
» "Paper Route," Flyway Literary Review, 1996
» "Brainy Smurf and the Council Bluffs Pride Parade," Generation Q (Alyson, 1996)
March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Twitter

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Visitor Map

Locations of Site Visitors

RSS Recent Posts from Towleroad

  • NEW MUSIC: Morrissey – ‘Low In High School’
    Morrissey – Low In High School It’s hard work being a Morrissey fan. From the early heady days of his solo career when the first tour was worthy of an MTV special to the genius first few albums (apart from Kill Uncle obviously), right up to 200… Read The post NEW MUSIC: Morrissey – ‘Low In High School’ appeared first on Towleroad.
  • Margaret Court, Mariah Carey, Armie Hammer, Todrick Hall, Michelangelo Signorile, GOP Tax Plan: HOT LINKS
    GOP TAX PLAN. Orrin Hatch explodes after Sherrod Brown says tax plan is for the rich: “I’ve been here working my whole stinking career for people who don’t have a chance,” Hatch said. “And I really resent anybody who says I’m just doing t… Read The post Margaret Court, Mariah Carey, Armie Hammer, Todrick Hall, Michelangelo Signorile, GOP Tax Plan: HOT LINKS […]
  • Jared Kushner Failed to Disclose Wikileaks Emails, Details About Russian Contacts to Senate Investigators
    Jared Kushner has held information back from the Senate Judiciary Committee concerning Wikileaks and Russian invitations and Senators Chuck Grassley and Dianne Feinstein are demanding it, the Washington Post reports: In the letter, Grassley and Feins… Read The post Jared Kushner Failed to Disclose Wikileaks Emails, Details About Russian Contacts to Senate In […]
  • Owners of ‘F**K Trump’ Truck Have Been Identified, and are Speaking Out
    Fuck Trump Photo After a Fort Bend County sheriff expressed concern via Facebook about potential conflicts stemming from a truck’s offensive sticker about President Trump, the owners of the truck are speaking out. In the since removed Facebook post,… Read The post Owners of ‘F**K Trump’ Truck Have Been Identified, and are Speaking Out appeared first on Towle […]
  • Kevin Spacey, Elephant Trophies, Tax Bill, Prince Harry, Tom Hardy, Leonardo da Vinci, Coldplay: HOT LINKS
    TAX BILL. House passes rewrite of tax code in 227-205 vote: “Attention now turns to the Senate, which was grappling on Thursday with another setback after a congressional analysis found that their revised tax bill would actually raise taxes on… Read The post Kevin Spacey, Elephant Trophies, Tax Bill, Prince Harry, Tom Hardy, Leonardo da Vinci, Coldplay: HOT […]

Polls

RSS Breaking News from The Daily Beast

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Pics from Africa 2010

About Me

https://rsiasoco.wordpress.com/about/

About Me

Ricco Villanueva Siasoco is a Manhattan-based writer and non-profit manager. More

Top Posts

Top Clicks

  • None

Categories