Burroughs Adding Machine

Social justice, arts and politics, life in New York City

WWII Vet on Marriage Equality: “What do you think I fought for?”

A moving video of Philip Spooner, an 86 year-old WWII veteran, who testified for gay marriage in Maine. “A woman at my polling place asked me, ‘Do you believe in equality for gay and lesbian people?’ I was pretty surprised to be asked a question like that. It made no sense to me.”

Spooner continues, with candor and compassion: “Finally, I asked her, ‘What do you think I fought for at Omaha Beach?”

As election day nears, polls show that Maine voters are split on marriage equality: 48% in favor; 48% against. Critics worry about a repeat of the Prop 8 fiasco in California. Now, more than ever, we need to voice our support for marriage equality as clearly as Philip Spooner.

Filed under: gay rights, , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. Frank B says:

    That guy choked me up a bit when he said that. I hope people listen to that man.

Leave a Reply

About Me

Ricco Villanueva Siasoco is a Manhattan-based writer and non-profit manager. More

Top Posts

Top Clicks

  • None

Categories

