Burroughs Adding Machine

Social justice, arts and politics, life in New York City

Asian American activism

As a teacher, you can become jaded easily. I was doubtful about this when I first started teaching seven years ago, but I’ve witnessed it first-hand: myself and my colleagues recycling syllabi, procrastinating in grading, not taking time to talk–to really get to know–students. One way that I’ve tried to combat this in myself is to offer courses that I feel passionate about. Perhaps my favorite course that I’ve taught at B.C. is a course that I developed entitled “The Filipino American Experience.”

Now, it’s fantastic to see my students take the lead and to actively voice their support for more ethnic studies courses. Next Tuesday, they’ve organized a rally for more ethnic studies courses on campus–the fact is that Asian Americans are the highest proportion of AHANA students on campus. To BC’s credit, there will be nearly 30 courses offered during the fall semester in African and African Diaspora Studies, and a dozen courses in Irish Studies. Asian American Studies? A whopping 3 courses next year (this is down from 5 courses this year). “The Filipino American Experience”–a course with full registration each semester–was one of those course

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

About Me

Ricco Villanueva Siasoco is a Manhattan-based writer and non-profit manager. More

Categories

